Himalaya Part II – Faraway, So Close!

Tag 4 – Time to say farewell: from Tadapani (2647m) to Chomrong (2130m) I already had to say goodbye to Andrea and Babu, the night before. Those two had to start their trek before sunrise, to be able to reach Kathmandu on the same day. Of course, Andrea didn’t walk away without leaving a farewell. […]

Himalaya Part I – Stair Run Is Not Always Fun

The Himalaya-Poon Hill-Panorama-View Let’s plunge in the Alpine World There was not much time to acclimatize to the “real” world after the “monastery week”. I had to go to the office of the travel agency the day I returned to Thamel to organize the last details of my tour. The next morning, Kumar, my guide for […]

Peaceful Silence

Arrival in Kathmandu – Little Delhi?! Optimistically I headed off to my last stop Nepal, country No.24. I should finally be a bit more quiet and peaceful. But if you search for a more relaxed environment, the capital Kathmandu, especially the tourist area Thamel, is not really the right place. Hectic life and traffic jams are on […]

Welcome to real India, bro!

From the Wonder of the World to the Capital New Wonder of the World number 5 was done. There was not much more to do in Agra. I moved on the 300km to the capital. Delhi is with more than 25million inhabitants the third biggest metropolitan area in the world. This city burst at the […]

Chasing the Wonder of The World

Jodhpur – desert heat at the Fort Sol and I went the approx. 3h from Udaipur to Jodhpur by minivan. Including a TV, where they showed the new Bollywood Blockbuster “Sultan” (must have been an illegal copy). What a movie! 😀 An Indian wrestler wins a Olympic gold medal, wins the heart of his goddess […]

The Passport gets filled…

…at least virtually. Because you do not get a real stamp in your passport at the boarder crossing from Guatemala to El Salvador. The innovative and highly modern El Salvador does it virtual via computer. But one thing at a time: I traveled from the jungle of Lanquin to Antigua last week. A small town close […]

First night in Reykjavik

First night in Reykjavik and I had a rude awaking by the alarm clock. With a kind of a hangover, indeed. Actually it should have been a cozy evening. After arriving at the hostel yesterday, I checked out the surroundings, picked a bed in my 14p dorm, and got a seat in the lobby. The plan […]

Himalaya Teil II – Dem Himmel so nah

Tag 4 – Abschied nehmen: Von Tadapani (2647m) nach Chomrong (2130m) Bereits am Abend zuvor musste ich mich von Andrea und Babu verabschieden. Die beiden mussten noch vor Sonnenaufgang aufbrechen, um noch am selben Tag Kathmandu erreichen zu können. Natürlich ging Andrea nicht ohne einen Abschiedsgruß zu hinterlassen. Als ich etwas später am Morgen zaghaft […]

Himalaya Teil I – Hinauf per Treppenlauf

Der Himalaya-Poon Hill-Panoramablick Lasst uns in die Bergwelt eintauchen Viel Zeit blieb nicht, mich im „wirklichen“ Leben nach der „Klosterwoche“ zu akklimatisieren. Ich musste noch an dem Tag meiner Rückkehr nach Thamel, um die letzten Details meiner Tour klären, bevor mich Kumar, mein Guide für die nächsten 10 Tage, bereits um 6:30 Uhr am nächsten […]

Friedvolle Stille

Landung in Kathmandu – Little Delhi?! Erwartungsfroh machte ich mich auf zu meiner letzten Station Nepal, Land Nr.24. Es sollte endlich ein wenig ruhiger und friedvoller werden. Doch die Hauptstadt Kathmandu und dann vor allem das Touristenviertel Thamel, ist wohl kaum der richtige Ort, wenn man nach einem entspannteren Umfeld sucht. Hektisches Treiben und Straßenverkehr […]

Welcome to real India, bro!

Vom Weltwunder in die Hauptstadt Weltwunder Nummer 5 war abgehakt. In Agra gab es nicht mehr viel zu tun. Nächstes Ziel war die 300km entfernte Hauptstadt. Delhi ist mit über 25Mio Einwohnern die drittgrößte Metropolregion der Welt. Die Stadt platzt aus allen Nähten. Nicht umsonst taucht Delhi in den meisten Listen der dreckigsten Städte der Welt […]

Auf der Jagd nach dem Wunder der Welt

Jodhpur – Wüstenhitze am Fort Sol und ich wurden mit dem Minivan die gut 3 Stunden von Udaipur nach Jodhpur kutschiert. Inklusive Fernseher, der den neuen Bollywood Film „Sultan“ zeigte (muss also eine illegale Kopie gewesen sein). Was für ein Film. 😀 Ein indischer Ringer gewinnt olympisches Gold, gewinnt das Herz seiner Angebeteten (auch Ringerin), […]

Der Reisepass füllt sich…

…zumindest virtuell. Denn am Grenzübergang von Guatemala nach El Salvador bekommt man leider keinen klassischen Stempel in seinen Reisepass. Das innovative und hochmoderne El Salvador erledigt das virtuell am Computer. Aber der Reihe nach: Aus dem Dschungel in Lanquin bin ich letzte Woche die Reise nach Antigua angetreten. Einer kleinen Stadt in der Nähe von […]

Erste Nacht in Reykjavik

Es ging gleich mal gut los, die erste Nacht in Reykjavik und am nächsten Morgen schon leicht verkatert vom Wecker aus dem Schlaf gerissen. Eigentlich sollte gestern alles ganz gemütlich ablaufen. Im Hostel angekommen, erstmal die Umgebung abgecheckt, ein Bett im 14er-Zimmer ausgesucht und dann in die Lobby gesetzt. Bei einem Bierchen an der Hostelbar […]